IEC-60825-19 Safety of laser products - Part 19: Moving platform laser products

IEC-60825-19 - EDITION 1.0 - CURRENT

Document Center Inc. is an authorized dealer of IEC standards.
The following bibliographic material is provided to assist you with your purchasing decision:

IEC TS 60825-19:2024 specifies the velocity-dependent closest points of human access (VCPHA) for the classification of moving platform laser products when considering the movement of the platform with respect to a stationary frame of reference. This presupposes that the inherent kinetic hazard of the moving platform creates a zone in which persons would not be reasonably expected to be located. Additionally, it takes neighbouring moving platforms into account by defining stationary and moving apertures. This document is applicable to all laser products whose laser apertures are on a moving platform.
Laser products are sometimes used on moving platforms. Currently the standard IEC 60825-1:2014 considers only a stationary aperture; it does not address the situations where the emitting aperture is mounted on a platform, such as a vehicle, that can be in motion. Failure to consider the effects of the motion of the platform can result in overly restrictive assessment of the hazard.
Although accounting for a platform.s movement during the assessment of a laser product.s classification can lead to less restrictive measurement conditions, it is important not to overlook that there can be apertures, even on other moving platforms, moving at a relative speed of zero or close to zero with respect to the moving platform laser product being classified.



Want this as a site license?

To find similar documents by classification:

31.260 (Optoelectronics. Laser equipment Including photoelectric tubes and cells)

This document comes with our free Notification Service, good for the life of the document.

This document is available in either Paper or PDF format.

Document Number

IEC/TS 60825-19 Ed. 1.0 en:2024

Revision Level




Publication Date

March 1, 2024

Committee Number